Posted by: mzbitca | November 30, 2008

I’m bravely going…

where many many many teen girls have gone before. 70a63e3f3bd5737e

I have been hearing about this whole Twilight craze for awhile now. It started off small, bumper stickers on facebook saying things like “edward cullen is my boyfriend.” I was slightly confused but chocked it up to another High School Musical like thing. Then, blog entries started, then the movie was being promoted, then 14 year old girls were regressing to the 60s and freaking out like John, Paul, George, and Ringo were back in town.

Okay, girl falls in love with vampire…sure, except, been there, done that and if Whedon couldn’t prevent a human-vampire relationship from eventually becoming boring and slightly whiny I doubt others could. Most of my friends that have read the books admit that they’re not well written and pretty ridiculous…but you can’t stop reading them, kinda like that day you’re hungover and/or sick and the next thing you know you’ve watched like fifty America’s Funniest Home videos even though the best video on there involved a parakeet turning quickly in circles.  Plus, there’s this whole “Edward’s a creepy asshole that glitters more than the Gay Pride Parade when the sunlight hits him” aspect which makes me skeptical.  I’m a Whedonista and extreme lover of Harry Potter so my fantasy-teen-vampire-bookseries-moviefranchise space in my brain is pretty well occupied and views things like “Twilight” and “Tru Blood” as nothing more than imposters in the same vein.

Still, I am going to read these books…at least the first one.  It’s sitting next to me right now and I am planning on picking it up fairly soon.  I want to read this critically though, and with my feminist lens in full focus.  So, in an attempt to prevent myself from becoming absorbed in the quagmire of Hot Topic obsessions and “Team Edward” T-shirts I will be devoting the next two weeks to writing posts based on my impressions.  I will let no creepy stalkerish behaviors/statements go unnoticed.  I will not let a self-sacrificing for the man act go without snarky comment.  I will stand firm and unrelenting in the face of vampire baseball games and will not be swayed by the David Bowieness of their sparkly skin. david_bowie

But I will need help from my readers :).  So to start off this brave venture of mine: What are your impressions of the books?  What should I expect? How can I keep myself from getting a tattoo and masturbating to a slightly androgynous teenage boy with very very well processed hair?


Responses

  1. Hi! I found you through feministing, and first and foremost, love the name of your blog.

    Secondly, having never read the Twilight series, I can’t really give you much. But I just wanted to let you know that I’m looking forward to reading your posts on the subject, because I too shun Tru Blood and Twilight due to my Whedonista ways.

  2. I came over here from Feministe. I’m pretty thrilled you posted. This sounds like a pretty fabulous idea. I’ve never read the Twilight books but after reading some articles and descriptions recently I’ve been coming down pretty hard on them. They sound completely anti-feminist, from what I can tell. Not to mention really poorly written. Honestly, I’m not sure which of those two things offends me more.

    I’m a Whedonista and extreme lover of Harry Potter so my fantasy-teen-vampire-bookseries-moviefranchise space in my brain is pretty well occupied and views things like “Twilight” and “Tru Blood” as nothing more than imposters in the same vein.” THIS, for me, too.

    Anyways, I can’t wait to hear your impressions.

  3. I read some of it (didn’t get very far) and it was clear to me at least that Meyers’ Mormon background informed a huge amount of the framing of the story, and not in a good way. In a “oh this social construction that is really damaging to women and young girls is just NATURE!” way.

    That and the not so subtle implication that the Native Americans are the lost tribes of Israel…

    pet peeves. sorry.

    good luck!

  4. Dori
    I had heard that there are a lot of parallels to Mormonism in the book but I am not familiar enough with the tenets of the religion to notice them. Thanks for the heads up about the Native Americans subtext

  5. I, too, came here from Feministing, and this project looks like it will be both amusing and informative. My 17-year-old sister is a big fan of the books – thankfully not to the point of obsession, but still – and I just can’t bring myself to pick them up when there are so many more worthwhile things I could be reading. So it will be interesting to see a like-minded person taking them on.

  6. Hey–this is off-topic, but I just wanted to say: thanks for putting me in your blogroll, but the blog you have there is now defunct. AOL Journals closed down a month ago, but I am now keeping my personal blog at The Mind of Genevieve.blogspot.com; and my political blog at UneFemmePlusCourageuse.

  7. I am definitely going to be following this blog. I’ve already been taken in by your snarkinness, so prepare yourself for my comments. I read Twilight about 2 1/2 months ago, and found myself utterly obsessed with it for about a week. I was unable to comprehend why, until I read your comparison of the series to bad reality TV. Absolutely true! Thankfully I am no longer obsessed, although I still enjoyed reading it. I can see the flaws in it, both from a feminist and a literary point of view. I hope you keep writing!

  8. Oh, yeah, and I followed the link at Feministing. Great site.

  9. […] post info By Ouyang Dan Categories: just for fun and random babble Tags: books, oy w/the poodles already, pop culture Yes, there. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

