Posted by: mzbitca | August 10, 2008

My introduction to the blogging world

Well, Ladies and Gentleman, here is my first real foray into the world of blogging.  It’s an idea that has been floating around in my head for a while now but the whole blogoshpere has always slightly intimidated me (mostly due to my shoddy grammar and impatient nature that leads to spelling errors).

A little background info on me: I am a 25 year old living in Northwest Indiana and working in the Mental Health field, specifically within addictions.  I love to read and also enjoy TV and movies and a few celebrity blogs.  I also frequent a few feminism blogs, mostly notably, Feministing and Feministe.  Other useful notes: I would willingly have Joss Whedon’s babies (if I ever had any intention of willingly incubating anything within my uterus), I have two dogs which I adore even though they can be pains, and I have been married now for pretty much one year exactly.  I can be painfully sarcastic which has gotten me in trouble before and I am sure will get me in trouble again.

My purpose for this blog includes my love of many things pop culture and also my desire to live a feminist minded lifestyle.  I have decided to blog about some guilty or not so guilty pleasures specifically from a feminist point of view.  I have plans to tackle the works of Joss Whedon and his development of female characters and lack of development of POC characters. I also want to look into the Harry Potter books as I believe there is immense feminism within them.  I would love for this blog to serve as a cross between Pajiba, TWOP, and many of the excellent feminist sites out there.

Responses

  1. Hey MzBitca. I’ve been reading your comments and posts on Feministing for a little while and it’s cool that you’ve started your own blog. I love feminist pop culture blogs.

    I also read Pajiba…loved it prior to identifying as a feminist…and found it steadily more disappointing afterwards.

  2. Yeah Pajiba definitely does have it’s problems but I have still found some rewarding posts there depending on who is reviewing.

  3. The most annoying one? T K


Leave a Reply

Categories

