Posted by: mzbitca | December 17, 2008

Sorry this is a late post

Today is the International Day to End Violence Against Sex Workers and there was a march today in DC

.marchlogo

As a feminist I feel it is my duty to make sure that violence against any woman does not go unnoticed by myself or others.  This should not be based on their job or their victim stance.  A woman who was trafficked and raped is horrible but it is no horrible that the voluntary sex worker who is beat down by a john.  Violence against women is violence against woman and I do not want to keep quiet today because silence from a feminist is the same as ignoring all off the women marching for their rights to do whatever they want with their bodies.

If anyone is interested in learning about the sex work industry and the complexities to it I encourage you to check out renegade evolution and branch out from there.  This blog is usually reserved for feminism in relation to pop culture but I feel that today was a day I had to make my stance known and show my virtual support for those who face the threat of violence due to their choice of employment.

gse_multipart49585

Leave a Reply

Categories

