Posted by: mzbitca | February 19, 2009

American Idol and Homophobia?

I am a big fan of American Idol.  I love the drama and I love listening to different talented people sing each  year especially when they completely surprise you with amazing songs.  So of course I’ve been watching it this year.  Obviously there is a lot to be desired, the homophobic jokes between Simon and Ryan, the sizing individuals up like they’re meat.  The way things like a person’s appearance can be torn apart. As well as the way they obviously have favorites and completely shove them in our face like they did on Tuesday with Danny Gokey.  I have always been unwilling to dive to much into a full analysis of American Idol because, well, to be honest I just don’t want to ruin it for myself, it’s my mindless entertainment.  But there was one thing I felt I had to comment on.

This Tuesday Casey Carleson sang “Every little thing she does is magic” by the Police.  Granted, she did it badly but also she changed all the pronouns from “she” to “he”.   I suppose it isn’t a real big deal, but honestly, would it be a big deal for  woman to sing a song about wanting another woman.  I mean, that is the way the song was written and my guess is that when most people sing it to themselves they don’t change the pronoun based on their sexual attraction.  I would like, just once, for a contestant to go up there and sing the song the with the same words.  Messing with any other words would be considered a shame, but if you change the pronoun because heaven forbid it sound like you like the same sex, than all is right with the world.

This season it seems we have a few openly gay competitors and I am curious to see how they will handle it.  If they even feel compelled to change the lyrics so that they seem like they’re doing the “right” thing by America I will shit a brick.  It shouldn’t matter if a man sings about loving a man or a woman about loving a woman, what should matter is their level of talent.

Some of my favorites from last season:

 

Responses

  1. […] mzbitca wrote an interesting post today on American Idol and Homophobia? « What a crazy random happenstanceHere’s a quick excerptI am a big fan of American Idol. I love the drama and I love listening to different talented people sing each year especially when they completely surprise you with amazing songs. So of course I’ve been watching it this year. … […]

  2. I thought that she did a terrible job. I also agree with you that if they are not willing to sing the song in its original form then they should not change it. This speaks not only about homophobia but a lack of confidence in their own themselves. They see homosexuality as somehow threatening. These are the same people that cannot admit that someone of the same sex is attractive. What other people do with their bodies should not be threatening to others.

  3. the producers of American Idol are obviously singling out Danny Gokey as their favorite, but i would like to see him win so i don’t mind

  4. Agreed about the pronoun switch. I don’t watch the show but my parents do, so I end up listening to it from the other room.

    I am sure you’re watching right now (or will be?), but WHAT THE FUCK, THE ENTIRE GROUP singing Katy Perry’s “Ur So Gay”? WHAT?!?!?

  5. That feels to me like when that one kid sang “Imagine”, but changed half the lyrics b/c of his religious beliefs. If you object to a song’s message so much that you have t change the words, maybe you need to find another song. Just sayin’.

    And I don’t watch the show much, but I am appalled at the way homophobia is so deep seeded that no one even bats an eye. Just once I would like to see a contestant call them out on that shit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

