Posted by: mzbitca | June 17, 2009

Apparently this bears repeating

Okay, is everyone listening,  that means you in the back that’s too cool for school, do I have you attention?  Good.

*ahem*

SEXISM AGAINST A REPUBLICAN WOMEN (YES EVEN SARAH PALIN) IS STILL SEXISM AND IS NOT A VALID FORM OF POLITICAL ARGUEMENT/FUNNY/OKAY BECAUSE SHE’S A “HYPOCRITE” 

*ahem*

Did you all get that? Are you listening?  If you’re still confused let me try to explain it a little more.  Freedom from sexism is not something that somebody “earns”, it is not something that they forfeit if they engage in sexist comments or policy stances either.  Here’s why:  Treating women equally is NOT a political stance no matter how many politicians use it as one.  It is a BASIC FUCKING HUMAN RIGHT.  I don’t care how many teenage girls in Alaska are pregnant because their abstinence only education told them condoms are the wrappers for devil’s lollipops.  That doesn’t mean you get to slut shame her daughter, or criticize her looks.  It means you get to argue that her policies are dangerous for teenagers and she either needs to change them or be voted out.

I don’t care if you think she used her kids as “pawns”, that doesn’t mean she’s lost the right for people to not be complete assholes about her life.  I don’t care who makes the statement, a sexist statement is a sexist statement whether it’s from John McCain, Barack Obama, Sarah Palin, David Letterman or the purple fucking Teletubbie.  

Oh, and this rank and file shit of accusing people who defend her against attacks of therefore supporting her polices. BULLSHIT.  I don’t agree with all democratic policies, in fact there are times when I think the republican’s can be right.  I am not a robot in a “liberal army” I’m a women who really doesn’t like it when she sees other women get shat on in completely sexist ways, because all it’s doing is solidifying the belief that women politicians have to follow different rules than the males and that completely superficial things can be used against them.

Responses

  1. Nicely done.
    That said, may I ask why the sexism and racism directed against Michelle Obama isn’t pursued with the same zeal here?

    Or did I miss something you wrote?

    I mention this because far too many feminists routinely go postal when a white woman is slurred, but are mysteriously silent when prominent Black and Latina women are slurred.

    Take it for what it’s worth, but I think a self inventory might be very revealing here.

    urs, etc,
    -voz

    • You’re absolutely right, I’m not sure how many I’ve written(if any) and it is definitely something I need to look at.

  2. Well said.

    Also, you totally had me at “wrapper’s for devil’s lollipops”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

